The village of Compton Murdac was renamed around 1500 as Compton Verney under the influence of the Verney family who first built a manor house there in 1442. The Manor House was extended by succeeding generations.
Richard Verney was granted the title of 11th Baron Willoughby de Broke by the House of Lords in 1695 after his elder brother's family line failed. His son the 12th baron rebuilt the house and landscaped the gardens in the early 18th century. The house was then later completely remodelled by Robert Adam and the gardens by Capability Brown for the 14th Baron, John Peyto-Verney.
Compton Verney is now an award winning art gallery in Warwickshire. It offers a unique opportunity to view art in the setting of a Grade 1 listed Robert Adam mansion located in 120 acres of spectacular parkland. Compton Verney houses six permanent collections and has a programme of exhibitions.
Information on current exhibitions, opening times and prices can be found on the Compton Verney website.